The Mystery of ‘Nothing’


IMG-20160117-WA0022

My son Isa grew up, for the best part of the last one and half years, before my eyes. I saw his intelligence developed, and most often than not, I could trace back the source of his newfound knowledge: it could be me, his father, other family members, or the TV. Where did he learn about tooth fairy he’s been talking about? Oh, it could be the Little Charmers series he’s been watching. Whom did he imitate when he said ‘I don’t like this, it is too yellow’? It must be the book we’ve been reading to him the other day. Or where did he learn that if he’s angry he can scream his lung out? That must be mommy – guilty as charged!

The perks of being a stay-at-home mother in this regard is the pool of influencing sources is rather limited and somehow I can control it,  ones. Bad behaviour coming from any of us parents? We can definitely rectify it. The family members? Tell them rather subtly that it is not good and demonstrate a better way. If it is the TV, I normally can figure out which programme (after all he watches only Nick Jr channel from HyppTV), try to understand the context and explain to Isa why it is wrong and how to do it right.

But despite all this ability to trace back all the roots of corruption (haha), I am still perplexed by this one belief Isa has, that if Mommy (yes, specifically me, one who looks after him 24/7) asks ‘What are you doing?’ he MUST answer it with ‘Emm..nothing!’.

Like, he’s so convinced that this is really the correct response he even advises his father to do the same, reminding him that ‘if Mommy asks you what are you doing, you must say ‘Nothing!’, okay?’, to which, of course, my husband laughed his heart out – jokingly defending himself by saying that it’s not from him that my son learnt such gesture.

When I asked him why he answered my question that way, he just reiterated, in a matter-of-factly manner that ‘if Mommy asks you what are you doing, you must say ‘Nothing!’, as if it is just a common sense; nothing impolite about that.

At one time it feels like I’m a having a very moody and secretive teenager around instead of a preschooler – too soon, too early.Of course I have told him to answer nicely and truthfully if that question is asked, that if you’re playing with the blocks, just say so, and still am correcting him from time to time.

Nevertheless, it is still a mystery where he learnt that from to this day.

Or maybe I just need to stop being too nosy.

 

Leave a Reply

