In Preparation for BBW 2014


Big Bad Wolf (BBW) is coming!

So this year’s biggest books warehouse sale will be on 6-15 December 2014 – that’s another month to go, but I am all geared up. I am pretty sure I’d be heavier by that time, and it would not be as pleasurable as before, but cheap and good books don’t come easy.

Just like last year, I have no plan to buy books for myself. I buy books almost every other month from Kinokuniya according to my needs, and my husband mostly buys his books during the yearly Pesta Buku Antarabangsa at PWTC. So BBW sale is really for Isa’s little library.

I could see that Isa has transitioned from picture books to story books, but still loves his alphabet and number books as he still occasionally flips through them. He has begun to love story books to the extent of memorizing the story line and having them read aloud for him over and over again. BBW has a lot to offer on story books, but I prefer giving him Malay books (check out these books by PTS illustrated by the ever-amazing Emila Yusof, at only RM5!). Other non-story books that we have currently range from wild animals, shapes, colours, pets, numbers, alphabets, transportations (still his favourite topics) – so I am thinking, what else?

As Isa is fast approaching 3 years old next year, I tried to find out what kind of books suitable for age 3-4 which could differ from his current needs. Here are in general different types of children books (source: here , here and here):

1. Factual/informational books e.g. dictionaries, simple cyclopaedia – for topics of interest where he’d like to know in details. In my mind it’s definitely cars!
2. Wordless books – encourage free story telling. I don’t have any of these yet.
3. Rhythmic Books – will make reading predictable (and predictable means fun for the kids)
4. Fairy tales – can enrich imagination
5. Activity books – he can read and move his fingers too
6. Alphabet and number books – for reading and math readiness, but should be with good pictures and ‘stories’ as well
7. Nursery rhymes – can sing along
8. Participation books – books that invite the reader to respond

I am thinking perhaps for this book sale I should concentrate on finding informational books for Isa, in addition to activity books which come really, really cheap at BBW (books with puzzle cost around RM10-15) and have an extra long staying power. Extra books which I could keep their novelty to be used during needy days (e.g. when mommy is sick or super busy) could be Isa’s favourite Thomas & Friends books (listed as RM5 each on the website). Isa has enough books on shapes, alphabets, numbers, transports, colours, animals and such, so I may need to stock up a bit more of books focusing on routine things e.g. daily life activities (I’ve spotted some suitable titles from the website).

Oh, I am so high!

Leave a Reply

