Reading List Update – August 2014


My office mates are keen on celebrating anything that one suggested that each of us set a personal target, so that we can rightfully celebrate once the deadline is crossed. Since I was already two books behind in my one-a-month target, I told them that my aim (a month ago) was to read 5 books by end of October 2014.

So far I have finished two (and just announced it today during our monthly department meeting). I managed to pick up ‘Superfreakonomics’ again, and completed it after a long, long delay. I also finished reading another book of essays – Ukuran Pembangunan: Pendekatan Kapitalis dan Islami (Development Indicators: Capitalist and Islamic Approaches).

I have another three books to finish, so currently I am savouring these gems:

Purification of the Heart: Signs, Symptoms and Cures of the Spiritual Diseases of the Hea

The Proper Care and Feeding of Husbands

Einstein Never Used Flashcards: How Our Children Really Learn–and Why They Need to Play More and Memorize Less

*****************

 

My read list is now updated as follows:

 Al Muhaddithat

 Sustainability is for Everyone

 Wild Swans: Three Daughters of China (Reread)

PhD: Kecil Tapi Signifikan

SuperFreakonomics: Global Cooling, Patriotic Prostitutes And Why Suicide Bombers Should Buy Life Insurance

Ukuran Pembangunan Pendekatan Kapitalis dan Islami

This entry is part of my ‘Read-a-Book-a-Month’ attempt.

20131224-171041.jpg

2 comments

  1. Assalamua’alaikum Sis. Congratulations on the good news of a second child! Duas for your good health in these trying but rewarding months for you. Ameen.

Leave a Reply

