Things We Do at Home (2)


1. Had a Playdate with the Cousin

They did have an excellent time playing together

They did have an excellent time playing together

Isa loves his cousin brother dearly, and the moment he saw Adam at the front door he went ecstatic! They spent half a day together playing all sorts of thing – including swimming time and ball games. Isa refused to take a nap, that he fell asleep at the dining table while having his late lunch!

2. Putting coins into his penny bank

Inserting coins into the penny box.

Inserting coins into the penny box.

This would be good for his motor skills, and I could see his improvement in handling those coins and inserting them into the bank. Since we have quite a big amount of coins, we did this in more than one sitting.

3. Butterfly Paper cutting

Butterfly paper cutting

Butterfly paper cutting

Armed with lots of colour papers (which I got from my brother who cut A4 paper  into smaller rectangles for his study notes) and Blue Tack, I introduced paper cutting to Isa – making objects he is familiar with. He loves them the butterflies, and soon we were making a lot of other things with the paper.

4. Painting – again!

Previously I wrote about the first time I introduced Isa to paint and painting, and it was not received well due to the ‘eww’ factor. This time around, I tried to use paintbrushes, but the ‘eww’ factor is still there I supposed, that he kept asking for his hands to be washed.

Painting

Painting

What he seems to be more interested in was the process of making the homemade paint – I think partly it is more physical, which is his inclination so far.

Helping in the process of making the paint

Helping in the process of making the paint

5. Bottle Rack again

Playing with bottle collars

Playing with bottle collars

This thing seems to be his favourite, that I can leave him to play alone and do my thing in the bathroom for more than half an hour! Since I religiously follow the advice of replacing BPA-free feeding bottles every 6 months, I have a number of colourful bottle collars which I hate to throw away because they are so cute. In the end, they become a toy for Isa to play with – to my delight.

6. Sweeping the floor
Sweeping the floor

Sweeping the floor – at his grandparents’ house

An article I read told me that toddlers at this age love to ‘help’ around the house, so I am taking the opportunity to let Isa learn one things or two – and these days he loves reaching for the broom and helps me sweeping the floor. It keeps him occupied and hopefully improved his coordination.

 

Leave a Reply

