Up and Running!


Well, I have put it on this year’s resolution to actually take proper care of my health. One item in my action plan is to exercise – by going to the gym. It seems that going to the gym nearby my house doesn’t work, so last weekend I decided maybe I should try the one at my workplace. Lunchtime exercise would be great.

I told my husband exactly that. I put the short-term target of being able to run a half-marathon in one year time (it’s September now) – and my husband was like ‘Do you know exactly the distance of a half-marathon?!’. Only then I checked and found out it was 21 km approximately, but hey, I thought it is really doable so I told him: So what? Then he came out with all sorts out weird and ridiculous excuses when I asked him to partner with me in this pursuit- your legs aren’t strong you will have trouble,Who’s gonna take care of Isa when we go running for that half-marathon? etc. – but that’s the over-analysing side of him (and that’s perfect complement to my impulsive, do-now-think-later nature).

The first thing I did was downloading C25k (Couch to 5K)  iPhone apps – I am aware this programme for quite a while, and tried it out for a week or two before stopping few years back and think it could be a good starting point for myself.

The next thing I did was  to pack my gym bag and went to the gym for the first time last Monday – and enjoying it!

I am recording the journey for my first 5km here on a new page – My C25k. 

Good luck to me!

2 comments

  1. Awesome!! Good luck! I am on Week 5 of the C25K- great program- I have had to repeat workouts, but I’m okay with that! I’ve gone from barely being able to fun 60 seconds to running 8 minutes. Keep it up! 🙂

  2. Thank you, Jen!
    Two days – I already feel so good, at Week 5 you must already feel great!

    All the best to you too & thanks for dropping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

