Amazing


“Nothing you do for children is ever wasted.”― Garrison Keillor, Leaving Home

Isa is almost one year old. All Praise belongs to Allah the Creator, the Sustainer. It’s amazing to see how quickly he grows up. It’s even more amazing to see how he responds to things, when a few months ago he could not even control his own limbs.

For me the magical moments, the point where I was reminded that in front of me is not just my son – but an individual sometimes are just simple actions:

1. We were playing with a toy  where to listen to the sound, one must press the ‘screen’. Isa is yet to master the skill of pressing (there is no button, just flat surface) so after showing him how to do it for a few times, I stopped. He then pulled my hand and put them on the screen for me to press again. That simple act simply amazed me.

2. It is funny how he responds Whenever he sees my b**b. Like really, he turns half laughing half crying, a special expression reserved only for my b**b. And he has learnt his way to navigate through my shirt/blouse, only recently. That is really a milestone. I am really wondering what the sight of that means to him? Comfort? Nourishment?

3. How he gets jealous (?) when both my husband and I are cuddling each other. He will definitely come and join the company. I do not know about whom he feels more possessive that he becomes jealous – me or his father. Oh, he recently gives the same reaction too, whenever any of us is holding another baby.

4. My son will laugh when he sees me laughing. Maybe it is just a novelty, hence he seems to sense the difference from my usual expression (which most of the time is tense) and decided to join me. Just for the record, Isa seems more delightful around his father.

5. Isa has mastered the way to get out of the bed or couch. Previously he tried getting out head first (stretch his arms to the floor) which is hazardous, so the father showed him to get off with his legs first. He is now very proficient in doing that.Amazing is how absorbent his mind.

6. Having been living with a human who barely understand what you say, it is just stunning how, one day,  I could see his response to my question of ‘Isa nak susu?’ (Do you want milk?) and ‘Isa nak “enen”? (Do you want to nurse?). God is great indeed!

7. And yes, he grows up to show his likes and dislikes sometimes in an extreme way. He screams when something is taken away from him, or if we are trying to show him how to operate certain things or toys. Or if the time is right you will see him putting his face on the floor as a sign of protest.

iPhoneMarch 818

At this rate I know it won’t be long before he goes to school, or leaves me for college or even gets married.

Leave a Reply

