Where to Buy a Nursing Abaya?


I had many referrals to my blog from the keyword of ‘breastfeeding/nursing abaya’. Just in case anyone’s really looking for that and stumble upon my blog, I figure out why not let her be directed to somewhere really useful, right?

So far for me, abayas that are friendly to my nursing task come in two types:

  1. Open-front abaya, which means the abaya has button from chest downwards
  2. Abaya with a zip/button from neck opening until just below chest.

Basically, as what abaya is known to be an outer garment, people would wear something inside i.e. a shirt and trousers/skirts. But for my case, I only wear long trousers with no inner shirts to make breastfeeding easier.

However, this normally pose a challenge when it comes to wearing open front abayas, which sometimes are not properly closed when you button them up, hence your skin might show. The solution for me is to sew the opening from the knee-level up until just below the chest, wherever that’s comfortable for me to open and nurse. I have a number of abayas which I have done this to, and they work just fine.

That’s why I’d prefer the second type of breastfeeding abaya, which is more comfortable and easy to ‘navigate’. However, these types are harder to find.

Back to our topic for this post, here’s where I bought my current collection of abayas (both online and offline). Please note that these are all from Malaysia. If you reside somewhere else, I suppose some of the online retailers do provide courier service internationally:

1. Maratussolehah Muslim House.Β 

august

It has a very wide range of nursing abayas.I bought my sport cum nursing abaya from here, and it is not middle-east-made. All abayas are priced at RM120 + RM6 (postage). I’d say mine is really worth for every penny spent.

2. An offline shop at Sunway Putra Mall named Ali Muslimah Fashion. I bought two last time, and was given discounts. As one is made from a high quality nidha, for RM220 I think it is a steal. One of the most comfortable I have so far. The outlet is at Lower Ground floor I think. Wasn’t very happy with the other one though.

3. An outlet at Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, at Roshni Bazaar. This outlet sells only black abayas from middle east (can’t recall which specific country) and most if not all of them are priced at RM150. It is in front of Colosseum Cafe. I bought one made of fursan material, the first one, and start to love the material so much! Went again a few times but could not find any that’s suitable for office wear i.e. less bling-bling.

4. Aisha Nur Abaya.Β 

Bought this simple abaya from this online shop for Eid. It instantly became my favourite abaya so far, because this one falls into second category of nursing abaya which is suitable for long travel – if wearing the open front chances are when holding Isa, who is moving non-stop, all button will go loose. Mine was priced at RM175, slightly above my normal price range.

august

5. Niqaabis Collection. Bought two pieces from this online shop, both are open-front. Well, the price are really low, one is less than RM100 (plain), another one is at RM110 (with bling-bling all over). The plain one is pretty comfortable, but the second one I only use at certain occasions. It says the material is fursan, but only after I received it that I knew it was of a lesser quality (hence the low price).

6. An outlet in Padang Besar Bazaar, Perlis. Made of satin, priced at RM100 partly because it is an old stock, which I didn’t mind buying.

7. Butik Abaya Tini. I have my first custom-made abaya here, at RM220 worn during my sister-in-law wedding. First-class customer service I have to say. I’d go crazy browsing through its album, because all of them are really, really beautiful!

8. Do Buy Dazzle. Found a steal here last month and very very glad! Bought mine at RM100 inclusive of postage (because it was a limited-time offer), made of nidha (not the highest quality) and I love it. The owner will go an extra mile to find your specific choice if you request, I believe.

9. Dubai Abaya Couture. Eyed one particular simple abaya for some months, initally priced at RM150 or was it RM180, but during its Year-End Sale, I managed to grab it at RM87, postage included. Happy as a kid.

I hope this helps!

p.s.I promised my husband I am not buying any more abaya until June 2013. Then I’ll go for another customised one, or maybe make one myself!

p.p.s: 1MYR or RM 1 is equivalent to USD0.32 (as at 14 Feb 2013)

13 comments

  1. nice topic and when you try a customised abaya, it will not be a problem to you…

  2. Salam sis.. maybe it’s time to get a new nursing abaya? πŸ™‚ Please let us know if we can get a special mention in your blog! πŸ™‚

  3. Salam. Thanks for dropping by!
    I liked your FB Page a while ago, and yes, I did notice that nursing abaya – that design makes nursing all the easier. Will definitely browse through your pretty abayas soon…who knows that there might be one that I’d fall in love with!

  4. Assalamualaikum Sisters.
    Salaam Maal Hijrah.
    We are a new online business, and our main drive is to bring affordable, and at the same time elegant abayas, to all our sisters.
    Do keep us in mind when you would like to get an abaya the next time, In-Sha-Allah.
    Do visit us at http://www.albarakahabayas.com
    JazakAllah Khair.

  5. The store from where i purchased maternity abayas for myself is EastEssence. And this is not totally a store based in Malaysia. It provides its services worldwide.

  6. Thank you Adibakhan17 for sharing.

    I have seen some resellers of EastEssence in Malaysia. Are you happy with the quality of its abayas? I have read some negative reviews about the materials used.

Leave a Reply

