So much of a working mother


Any mother could perform the jobs of several air-traffic controllers with ease. ~ Lisa Alther

I was dead tired yesterday. Or flat tired, whatever the term is. I was exhausted almost beyond my limit.

It was Monday, so you know, it’s Monday blues partly. I went to work, rushed to have my breakfast, continued with my emailing and stuff, until my boss asked me to do some urgent preparatory stuff for our Sustainability board committee. By preparatory stuff I mean printing 13 coloured copies of a 118-page report. There is no administrative officer in our office so we had to do everything ourselves. Printing is still alright, it is automated anyway, but binding it is another story.And another urgent presentation slides deck to be finished. A story board for our Sustainability Day exhibition that I have not even had a chance to figure it out.

I did not finish any of those by the end of the day.

I couldn’t.

In between two pumping sessions, two unexpected nursing sessions with Isa (since he still refused bottle yesterday unfortunately I had to be summoned to feed him directly ), and a lunch that I almost skipped – I could not focus.

Maybe, I say maybe, I should consider taking unpaid leave until Isa starts on solid food.

Leave a Reply

