Muslim Birth Rites #1: Reciting Azan


Isa was born on May 19 (I wrote about the labour I went through in my other blog), and we are more than happy to fulfill among our many responsibilities as parents to a newborn – and the first one is to recite Azan to Isa’s tiny little ears.

My husband dutifully did that, though he did funnily doubt when would be the right time (Is it now when the baby is still being held on my chest? Or now when he’s in the baby warmer?). I did miss the beautiful moment of him whispering those God-inspired words to our little son – thanks to the epidural pain relief I was taking which made me drowsy.

I could not wish for any other words to be heard by my son other than these:

Allahu Akbar
God is Great
(said four times)

Ashhadu an la ilaha illa Allah
I bear witness that there is no god except the One God.
(said two times)

Ashadu anna Muhammadan Rasool Allah
I bear witness that Muhammad is the messenger of God.
(said two times)

Hayya ‘ala-s-Salah
Hurry to the prayer (Rise up for prayer)
(said two times)

Hayya ‘ala-l-Falah
Hurry to success (Rise up for Salvation)
(said two times)

Allahu Akbar
God is Great
[said two times]

La ilaha illa Allah
There is no god except the One God

Those are beautiful words that I pray would guide his life- such a basic, fundamental thing to hold on to as a Muslim.

***

The other day, when we were laughing at the fact that the little one sleeps A LOT (which all babies do, right?), I told my husband he should have recite the azan for Fajr (early morning) prayer – which has one additional line: As-salatu Khayrun Minan-nawm, which basically means, Prayer is better than sleep.

Haha.

Leave a Reply

