Why I’m (Never) Going Digital


Man with book sitting in chair

I’m not that tech-savvy, I can happily make that confession.

And that confession implies that I have never own an e-book reader, nor am I considering it. In fact, it has never cross my mind.

I am a self-proclaimed avid reader, and having owned a PDA less than four years ago, with considerably large screen I can say that though the technology I used is not at all comparable now, I am not interested in buying an e book reader.

The main reason is that I still need to feel my pencil, pen, or highlighter screeching against the paper. There’s a satisfaction that. Just like the satisfaction you can’t get my clicking ‘done’ on you digital personal organiser on your phone, as compared to how you feel when you cross out that completed item on your written little ‘to-do’ list.

I mean, that’s me. Maybe I’m old. Maybe I’m conservative.

And to be honest, I hate to be dependent on the battery life of the gadget. This is nothing environmental, surely. Reading has its own carbon footprint; either you got to have trees fallen down to make books, or papers recycled as an alternative to that, or energy consumed to charge the batteries of the e-reader. No choice.

So if you ask me, I’d say no. It’s not in my wishlist, and I can safely say, it’ll never be, at least for the next five years.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

