On Reading History: Imbalance


Orange 4 - the best part of the library I reckon

Orange 4 – the best part of the library I reckon

I’m trying my best to concentrate on my reading – I am forcing myself to study the Umayyad, Abbasid and if possible, Ottoman Empire; I found numerous resources while for the past few years, but haven’t got the time to read them all, and now that I have the time, I am already diseased with attention disorder.

I’ve been reading a number of titles in the John Rylands library – I was quite pissed off with the fact that I could not use my library card anymore to get in, despite mine having the expiry date of 31 July 2009. Lucky that they are not using the card scanner at the moment at the entrance, I could get into the library, but could take out any book.

I sense that I have been reading books written by Western scholars. And I sense that it is quite an imbalance, for the fact that I lack sources from Eastern scholars, Muslims to be exact. I could not find any in libraries : both John Rylands university library and Manchester Main Library. Reading history is bad enough that you have to carefully detect all the biasness, but  if you are stuck with just one angle of looking at things that is even worse.

Is there anyone in possession of any good read in this area?

Please, please get back to me.

I know I might sound like a nerd, but is there any better sight than this?

I know I might sound like a nerd, but is there any better sight than this?

p.s. I could not even access online sources through Athens account. That really makes me mad. And for the fact that 98% of my books are already packed to be shipped home, it could not be worse.

Leave a Reply

