The Agony and Ecstasy


3343500605_e62e67207c

I am currently trying to finish the continuation of my travelogue, the climax of my journey that is, thus it is taking a bit longer to get into the mood and write.

Recently I have been forced with innumerable probing sessions on my current state of mind regarding marriage and such – I’m not that ‘dry’- I am still human, but here’s the thing: I have some important matters to be resolved first. Until I feel a bit settled, I won’t go any further.

My agony that only Lord knows.

The Agony and Ecstasy – Jalaludin Rumi

In the orchard and rose garden
I long to see your face.
In the taste of Sweetness
I long to kiss your lips.
In the shadows of passion
I long for your love.

Oh! Supreme Lover!
Let me leave aside my worries.
The flowers are blooming
with the exultation of your Spirit.

By Allah!
I long to escape the prison of my ego
and lose myself
in the mountains and the desert.

These sad and lonely people tire me.
I long to revel in the drunken frenzy of your love
and feel the strength of Rustam in my hands.

I’m sick of mortal kings.
I long to see your light.
With lamps in hand
the sheiks and mullahs roam
the dark alleys of these towns
not finding what they seek.

You are the Essence of the Essence,
The intoxication of Love.
I long to sing your praises
but stand mute
with the agony of wishing in my heart.

Indeed, only by the remembrance of Allah that the heart find tranquility and peace.

Wait for Journey to the Past Part 7 inshaAllah. Coming soon.

3 comments

  1. Argh! Just because one phase of life (college) is over than it’s time to start another? Career life pun a life phase juge! Kalau sampai jodoh kahwin la, kalau belum, lepak sudeyy. Tak faham la dengan expectation masyarakat ni. Grow up, please, and stop jaga tepi kain orang. Some things, like one’s life plan, are not for public display, bole?

    Emo siot aku. Lol

Leave a Reply

