My 4th Eid away


(This entry is meant for my family members, so if you find to too personal, please ignore).

There goes my fourth Eid away from home (first home it is, Manchester is the second one).

Again, this Eid was just as unexpected as the previous Eid, so we actually had to rush for Eid shopping right after Maghrib and takbir together, again. What a life. We only know that it was going to be Eid right before iftar on Monday evening. Oh yes, we celebrated Eid one day earlier before those in Malaysia.

Hanee was planning on having lontong while I resorted for a remake of my mother’s masak cabai, to eat with my favourite ketupat pulut. Recall that I am from the northern area of Malaysia where people rarely have ketupat nasi for Eid. Since Hanee brought some ketupat nasi, ketupat pulut and lemang segera from Malaysia, I didn’t bother hunting for banana leaves in China Town this year to make ketupat pulut myself.

So I bought 1kg of mince beef (though my mom has carefully advised me not to use this, but rather cut small the beef myself), and here’s the look of it, half an hour before it can be eaten.

To all my family members: I cook here in Manchester, I just don’t cook at home.
Family Portrait: 27 East Grove.

And this Eid, it seems that the only thing I miss terribly is my little nephew, Adam Haiqal! Here’s a pic of him on Eid, in his first Baju Melayu in my parents’ house.


Eid Mubarak!

Taqabbalallahu minna wa minkum.

p.s. I’m just thinking…

Ketupat nasi = rice cake
Ketupat pulut = Glutinous rice cake (?)
Lemang = Grilled Glutinous rice cake(?)

😛

3 comments

  1. salam aidilfitri afni!!
    yeah..this is our 4th Eid away from first home..and for me, its gonna be the last one..sday plak pk pasni xleh da nak sambut raya kat cni..hehe..anyways..selamat hari raya..maaf zahir batin ye afni =D

  2. wah, beraya di manchester! x invite rooney dtg beraya ke? wakaka~ 😛

    Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri.

    Maaf Z & B

    😀

Leave a Reply

