Time Management


(From Flickr)

David Allen says:

You can’t manage time, it just is. So “time management” is a mislabeled problem, which has little chance of being an effective approach. What you really manage is your activity during time, and defining outcomes and physical actions required is the core process required to manage what you do.

So, can we conclude that there is no such thing like ‘time management’?

Anyway, that is not the point. I have not updated my blog for a long time, that is pretty well expected, the rule of thumb is that the busier I am, the more entries I will produce. But right now, being at home, I am kind of hopeless when it comes to managing my time – I have plenty (in fact, tonnes) of work to do but I, theoretically also have a lot of time to kill. But as how I spend my time is not solely depends on my decision – it is kind of hard. Include parents, relatives and everything else into the equation, I am struggling to read, and of course, write.

And yes, the ever-expanding house chores is a kind of evil itself.

I am going to be at home, safe and sound, not going any further than Penang-Kedah border until I fly back to Manchester. That is sort of an agreement I’ve got into with my mother, who now starts to whine endlessly about me not being at home – and my aunts have also start complaining about that.

The way I console my mother?

‘Mom, thank God that I am a girl, because if I were the opposite sex, I would have gone out more.’ And giggles.

Bad answer, I know.

3 comments

  1. just two aunts and some cousins, not like yours Neurox

    hihi dah kena North bounded, My mum does say something like ‘byk beraktiviti, mearata pergi’. so sila kembali ke dapur dan buat house chores, which is more acceptable in our society 😛

  2. Neurox,

    Good news eh? Thanks to Hafiz’s mom.

    H,

    some cousins? 8 is quite a number.

    It wasn’t that bad, trust me. I have been considerate all this while… cancelling my plan to go east coast – kelantan(to attend my friend’s wedding), and kuantan (to visit my alma mater).

    Yeah, back in the kitchen, but I’m not cooking, especially when it is only for two 😛 There’s no way I’m going to bend according to society’s ridiculous rule.

Leave a Reply

