Hate Something, Change Something


I guess it was Mahatma Gandhi who said that if you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t, change the way you think about it. I lived with that principle, especially the last bit when I was in secondary school, dealing with thousands of ridiculous rules. I didn’t like it, and would not want to waste my time trying to change it (student voice wasn’t very heard back then) and so I just lived with it, happily.

But as I grew up, my true self -the outspoken one, began to resurface. And I still live with the same principle, but reduced to ‘If you don’t like something, change it.’. I must have hurt lots of people practising this, but it seems to be the right thing to do, especially when you feel that what is already there and done is not good enough. I think this is one of the basic reason why some people are inclined to activism, while some couldn’t care less, even when they are going to suffer a very bad consequence. The ability to ignore unagreeable things happening, that’s the key difference.

I have this Honda Ad song in my laptop, haven’t really paid any attention to the lyrics until last week, and guess what, as catchy as it is, it brings quite a big message.

Lyrics

Here’s a song for anyone
who’s ever hated…
in the key of Grrr…

Can hate be good? Can hate be great?
Can hate be good? Can hate be great?
Can hate be something we don’t hate?

We’d like to know… why it is so.
That certain diesels must be slow
and thwack and thrum… and pong
and hum and clatter-clat

Hate something. Change something.
Hate something, change something,
make something better-r-r-r

Ohh isn’t it just bliss… when a diesel goes like this?

Hate something. Change something.
Hate something, change something,
make something better-r-r-r…

Hmm.. ‘hate something, change something, make something better’ seems to be a good rule to live by. Is not that the Prophet himself who wanted us to enjoin goodness forbid evil? When our conscience is very much aligned to what God said, and our value system is as what Islam set earlier, should not we be hateful of what is wrong and try to correct it – with our hands (strength and power), or maybe with our words?

One comment

  1. Afnizar,
    Great surprises! I knew you from Hafiz’s blog, good to see you in my blog. Well, things are not pretty well manage over here, Im regret in many things, and yet to resolve any other parts. Just get use to my life and of course log book was one of the biggest sin that I did and regret until today. Thanks for drop by and I cherish it everyday.

Leave a Reply

