Enterprising Futures



MONEY-LAUNDERING Part 1
Originally uploaded by endraum
I almost changed my mind yesterday morning – 11 a.m in the morning was not too early, it was the bunch of other works that nearly convinced me that I better stay at home than going for this event. But still. I managed to get out of the house. Off to Bridgewater St, Humanities Building.

I know I have too much sympathy that I am not gonna be a very good entrepreneur, but I know the other side of me- the bossy, reluctant follower side – can never comprehend the idea of working for others for the rest of my life. I long for flexibility in my career, so why not invest a fraction of my time for this event?

The keynote speaker was the CEO of One Central Park – Prof Auckland. This is the second time I listened to his lecture, the first time was in one of MLP Lectures ( I think he discussed about social entrepreneur last time) – and he was, as always, inspiring. Big companies (think Shell, BP if you are a chemical engineering undergrad) is not affected whether you are there or not, you go, someone will take your place, the machine will still run. Only suitable for those who like being administrators, and prefer orderly and predictable setup, and security. But small companies are driven by innovation – very predictable, and he stressed this point over dan over again , that it is exciting. Exciting it is, I think, uncertainty rarely bores me, it keeps my adrenaline high most of the time. But the key skill he said, is SURVIVAL and ability to RECOVER from the ups and downs.

I guess I came to the right event, I can’t tell you how inspiring the panelists in the second session were. Most of them age less than 40, yet they are very successful. Some were driven by childhood dream, some were just excited by all the risks – but all of then admitted that there were sleepless weeks and months if not sleepless night. But is it worth it? In my point of view, it is worth all the freedom you gain, all the flexibility you have. Jo Ashburner, mentioned about her flexibility of dividing time for family and the company. Above all, I think that is what I want. I do not want to spend my lifetime working 9 to 5, I’d rather suffer at the beginning and later being able to give a good childhood to my children. How does that sound?

Oh, by the way, the event was not just about listening- we had this Dragon’s Den session as well – given a role play (Ideas for a Franchise for first year students to help them earn some money). I was damn nervous (we had to present the business strategy in front of the ‘dragons’ i.e. the experienced entrepreneurs , but my group was indeed fantastic. We did not win the £100 shopping voucher- but the idea we had was pretty good – Cafeteria chain in university accommodations. With the room services and all. And lucky me, I found someone, a PhD student doing Sustainable Development to help me with my Environmental Law and Regulation coursework! Yeay!

I was inspired, and I could not help but planning my business in my head all the way back home

Anyone wants to be my partner?

4 comments

  1. i think doing business is the only way to be rich (faster). although it maybe very risky -if not planning well- and consume a lot of money at the beginning (depend on what type of business).

    by the way, i think the most important think we should know before enter the business world is about financial management – and of course it should start with personal financial management.

    i couldn’t agree more with you when it comes to the independent and flexibility of time. very important right? but don’t forget that there are also a lot of employers out there willing to give your good payment based on your skills and experience (if being rich comes first in your mind). Sometimes it is much more secure and less – or maybe no – risky at all to work with employer. 9 to 5 a day, 5 days a week and yeay!! the big money comes at the end of month.

    many of us want to do business. me as well – although i don’t know what type of business yet. but i do have experience in selling t-shirt and foods in campus. and the outcomes are not bad also. of course that is not the type of business people like to join. everybody talking about big business nowadays. and when talking about big business, also bare in mind about big cost and big risk. not to wanna let u down but what i know that – McDonald takes about 10 years to start earning profit in malaysia. it’s a very long journey right?

    by the way, what type of business are u interested in eh? =)

  2. the bigger the success, the bigger the risks.

    Get out of our comfort zones. Security might be a bonus for someone, but definitely not for some who were born adventurous.

    none of the speakers have never failed. Dare to fail, that’s the key i think. none of the big companies and corporation started big, they all started small and grew up with time. it is simply naive to think that if i want to be rich, the company i am setting up must be massive.

    i don’t know how things work in malaysia but i gather that Malays doing business are being opressed, with no opportunities to grow – by their own people. what a regime.

    my idea? of course i can’t tell you here!

  3. i have read some -if not many- books about business and financial. i know it is very important to be proactive, adventurous, get out of comfort zones, dare to fail etc. but i’m looking for more realistic approaches or thought right now. maybe something more about plan and process.

    it is normal actually feeling unconfidence to start a business. that’s why kiyosaki start his book talking about partner and personal coach.

    i am more interested to be like what azizi ali called a ‘millionare employee’. be a good worker with good knowledge in financial management and at the same time create additional sources of income – business, investment etc. it is more secure, less risky and more practicable for someone new in business.

    i found many interesting topics in your blog but hardly finding time to surf internet right now. blog sendiri pun terabai. btw, teruskan menulis. keep up the good work.

  4. thanks for keep visiting.

    i remember one thing most of the speakers in the event mentioned: business is about doing. never mind how much you learn (though I don’t deny management and some other skills are as important), but doing business is more like learning how to play piano. You can’t read all the books and suddenly become a great pianist. it’s about doing.

    i agree with kiyosaki (i think i wrote about this earlier): keep your job which give you security, but at the same time invest your money somewhere else and let the money work for you.

    but as i said before, i don’t fancy having to work until 60. if i still want to do business, it must be the flexibility that drives me – for my future family and obviously to have more time to spend at something i am currently committed to.

    in my university, the young entrepreneurs (basically students who graduated and have some brilliant ideas to be developed) are given personal mentors who will guide them for free. they are given workstations (not sure of these are free), and within 2-3 years most of them are successfully managing their own companies. do they have the same support system in local universities in malaysia?

Leave a Reply

