Be more like me, and be less like you


 

I used to love this band when I was in school, didn’t really aware how I lost my interest.

Surfing Youtube today, and I found this, and I think this song is good. The video clip itself is marvellous.

 

“Numb”

I’m tired of being what you want me to be
Feeling so faithless lost under the surface
Don’t know what you’re expecting of me
Put under the pressure of walking in your shoes
(Caught in the undertow just caught in the undertow)
Every step that I take is another mistake to you
(Caught in the undertow just caught in the undertow)

I’ve become so numb I can’t feel you there
Become so tired so much more aware
I’m becoming this all I want to do
Is be more like me and be less like you

Can’t you see that you’re smothering me
Holding too tightly afraid to lose control
Cause everything that you thought I would be
Has fallen apart right in front of you
(Caught in the undertow just caught in the undertow)
Every step that I take is another mistake to you
(Caught in the undertow just caught in the undertow)
And every second I waste is more than I can take

And I know
I may end up failing too
But I know
You were just like me with someone disappointed in you

So why don’t we sing this song to the world and tell them we want to be what we should be rather than what the world wants us to be? Why can’t we be what we are supposed to be – and for me, it is to be a full time Muslim without any trace of materialism, secularism, or any other ideologies- someone free from the mold the world tries to pour us in?

Let’s go back to the basics, the fundamental reasons of our existence.

Let’s say to the world : ‘I’m tired of what you want me to be!’

One comment

  1. Wow, that’s really true. I’m tired too, tired of being a doll for my sister. I know all she’s done for me just for my sake, but she’s too harsh and overdose. Yea, it’s better if we just be ourself.

Leave a Reply

