A great nose may be an index to…


“… a great nose may be an index Of a great soul – affable, kind, endowed With wít and liberality and courage And courtesy…”Cyrano de Bergerac – a very unfortunate guy.

So Haz coming to Manchester is not a normal visit- not for me, her host at least. We did stupid things- out to Rusholme at 7 (7 pm during winter is way past Isha’) just to let her taste the super delicious famous faluda at Moonlite , taking pictures like the one below with some, erm, brothers, from Rsuholme straight to city centre (it was 9pm I guess) just t o watch another ‘live’ drama of a rebellious lady who got into a ‘fight’ with the bus driver- and this evening I just went for my first theatre here in the UK – Cyrano de Bergerac.

Though that was not Haz’s first choice (she actually wanted to see ‘Mamma Mia!’, but the tickets were already sold out) it was undeniably a brilliant performance costing us (well, Haz actually paid for my ticket) only £4. We even got stage level seats (I even had the actor sitting beside me), mind you.

What does the title mean anyway? I did a little research on that (basically because I doubted I would understand the story unless I knew what it is mainly about)- and actually that is the name of a guy, dubbed as:

‘Philosopher and scientist,
Poet, musician, duellist,
And voyager through space,
A sort of controversialist,
Whose wit kept to a charted track
But sped at great pace,
A lover too, who seemed to lack
The luck in heaven of other men.’

This is no imaginary guy, but a person who lived around 1600s in France.

So, basically, it is a love story.

The problem with this de Bergerac’s love life was that he loved his cousin,( in this drama named Roxane but the real name was different) but too afraid to tell her.Suffering a very low self-esteem due to his nose (yes, the actor even used a fake nose to make sure the nose is distinctively ugly), he rather kept his feeling unknown to Roxane. Worse (not sure if it should be seen as a brilliant opportunity), Roxane revealed to de Bergerac her feeling for this guy named Christian, who was handsome but not as articulate as de Bergerac- de Bergerac was a poet. Christian sought help from de Bergerac to write the love letters to Roxane. Roxane fall for the lovey-dovey letters, thinking that it was actually written by Christian. They got married, but later Christian was killed during a war- and it took 15 years for the mournful Roxane to realize that it was de Bergerac who actually wrote all those love letters, who loved her more than anything else.

Dumb love story if you asked me. That Roxane fell in love because of the look (this one is fine, that is streotype), but the feeling instantaneously changed because she found Christian verbally-challenged in a way that he couldn’t describe how much he loved her more than just: ‘very much’. So what? You want your lover to worship you?

But I pity de Bergerac more than anyone else (more than Roxane who lost the man he loved twice), because he had become the victim of a society who judge people, who love people by their look. I am grateful that I am a Muslim, who knows that my Lord looks not at how I look, but what is in my heart, that my confidence level doesn’t suffer just because I don’t look like size zero models.

Come on, de Bergerac might not be handsome, but he had good qualities that (might) make him a good man – an intelligent swordsman, a scientist..refer to the lines above.

Truly a love story that makes me, in the middle of watching it, touched but later sick.You know, sick of this so-called feeling that, to some extent makes you worship you lover. I have passed the age where to be admired does not make my adrenaline go sky-high anymore, that I have become more practical and realistic to adopt the notion that love should be definitely beyond words. I won’t mind if my future partner has this inability to elaborate the answer to the question : ‘How much do you love me?’ as long as he knows his responsibilities.

But anyway, the play was undeniably great,the prop was excellent, the actors and actresses were brilliant – and I love the script – the author is talented in playing with words. I remember a line said by de Bergerac, that sounds like this:

‘She weeps for him (Christian), but mourns for me’.

I might want to spend more Monday evenings watching theatre I guess.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

